Tags

,

Thanksgiving at our place was last night (obviously) and we had six people in attendance.  I’ve cooked Thanksgiving dinner before, but this was the first time I made everything from scratch.  Normally, I would buy stuffing mix (Pepperridge Farm), frozen hashbrowns, already shredded cheese and things like that, but those things are available here.  So…this Thanksgiving was an exercise in doing things the old fashioned way.  I shredded my own cheese, I toasted my own bread cubes for stuffing, and I peeled and diced my own potatoes for the cheesy potatoes.  And, you know what?  I loved it!  I had such a great time cooking everything from scratch that I don’t know why I haven’t done it this way before!  Probably because I was never forced to (in the US, so many things are prepackaged to make life easier), but it was a ton of fun, and not really all that much harder!  Plus, it was such a feeling of pride to know that I made this entire dinner, from start to finish, by myself and by hand.  Everyone raved about the food and had a great time!  We ate dinner around 7:00pm, had dessert, then played an intense, three and a half hour, game of Monopoly!  Talk about competition!

Overall, it was a very happy Thanksgiving.  While I wasn’t fortunate enough to spend it at home with family, I was lucky enough to spend it here with friends that have become like family.  It was definitely a night of great people, great food, and awesome memories.

